American Institute of Architects Los Angeles Chapter (AIA|LA)
Announces 2018 AIA|LA Design Award, Next LA, and COTE Award Winners


October 31, 2018 (Los Angeles, CA)—Amidst an awards ceremony that highlighted the commitment of multiple generations of architects to Los Angeles—former AIA|LA Presidents dating from 1977 to present joined each other on stage—and included truly hilarious moments—children, some costumed, some brash, some infants, thanked the night’s sponsors—the American Institute of Architects Los Angeles Chapter announced and bestowed its 2018 AIA|LA Design Award winners on Tuesday night, October 30.  The 2018 Design Awards Ceremony + Party was presented by Sharpe Interior Systems, Inc.

Given the caliber of work, the program is one of the most competitive in the United States. This year’s recipients were selected by juries composed of accomplished architects, designers, and academics from New York, Seattle, and San Francisco as well as Los Angeles. Winning projects ranged from transit centers, schools, and cultural centers to small homes, all of which transformed the urban environment.

For a full listing of winning projects, architects, and corresponding jury notes, scroll down. To view images of winning projects:

Design Award winners
Next LA Award winners
COTE LA Winners

“Today, architects are at the forefront of resolving societal challenges. Honoring stellar design and highlighting projects that influence the wellbeing of our communities is an essential component of the American Institute of Architects Los Angeles,” stated the organization’s president, Tania Van Herle, AIA. “I am delighted to congratulate the winners. We also commend all members for their daily contributions to cities and clients.”

Executive Director Carlo Caccavale, Hon. AIA|LA, noted that, in terms of Chapter activities, the 2018 AIA|LA Design Awards are not an isolated evening. “The ideas these projects embody are advanced throughout the year in programs and advocacy initiatives.”

The AIA|LA Design Awards program is composed of three separate categories. The first, the namesake AIA|LA Design Awards, recognizes the design excellence of some of the most significant completed projects in the country at this time. Unbuilt or are still-to-be-completed-commissions are considered and awarded through the AIA|LA Next LA awards program. AIA|LA COTE award (Committee for the Environment, AIA|LA) recipients are bestowed for demonstrable achievement in sustainable design, acknowledged for performance, systems integration and other such components.

Three levels of achievement are awarded in each category. Honor, Merit, Citation; Honor being the top ranking.

Completed projects, located anywhere, that are designed by AIA members from firms based in the Los Angeles area, and architecture constructed in Los Angeles by any AIA member, no matter their base of operations, are eligible for submission for Design Awards entry.

Tuesday night’s ceremony, which took place at the Egyptian Theatre in Hollywood, California also celebrated the 2018 AIA|LA Presidential Honorees. Bestowed by AIA|LA President Tania Van Herle, AIA and the organization’s Board of Director’s these recipients were announced on July 12. 2018. For more information, click here or follow this url:

For high quality images of winners and for more information about the event, please call 213-639-0763 or email



Animo South Los Angeles
Brooks + Scarpa
Los Angeles, CA

Parallax Gap
Washington, DC

Camelot Kids Child Development Center
KeltnerCo Architecture + Design
Los Angeles, CA

Lorcan O’Herlihy Architect [LOHA]
Los Angeles, CA

Fenlon House
Martin Fenlon Architecture
Los Angeles, CA

Culver City, CA


Ashes & Diamonds
Bestor Architecture
Napa, CA

Stoneview Nature Center
Ehrlich Yanai Rhee Chaney Architects
Culver City, CA

UCSB San Joaquin Student Housing
Lorcan O’Herlihy Architect [LOHA]
Santa Barbara, CA

Studio Dental II
Montalba Architects, Inc.
San Francisco, CA


Angle Lake Station
Brooks + Scarpa
Seattle/SeaTac, WA

Shirley Ryan AbilityLab
HDR | Gensler with Clive Wilkinson Architects
Chicago, Illinois

Advanced Stem & Design Institutes
Lehrer Architects LA
Los Angeles, CA

Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
Los Angeles, CA

2018 AIA|LA Design Awards Jurors Were:
Steve Dumez, FAIA – Principal and Director of Design, Eskew+Dumez+Ripple
Elaine Molinar, AIA, LEED AP – Partner and Managing Director – The Americas, Snøhetta
Brett Steele, AA DIPL, HON FRIBA, FRSA – Dean, UCLA School of the Arts and Architecture



Boyle Tower
MUTUO and urb—in
Los Angeles, CA


Belzberg Architects
Mexico City, Mexico

The New Center of Science & Technology in Suzhou
Kevin Daly Architects
Shishan Park, Suzhou, China

Pioneertown House
Pioneertown, CA

Camp Lakota
Frazier Park, CA

Mercado El Alto
Rios Clementi Hale Studios
Puebla, Mexico


MLK1101 Supportive Housing
Lorcan O’Herlihy Architect [LOHA]
Los Angeles, CA

Sunset Tower
R&A Architecture + Design
West Hollywood, CA

Nansha Scholar’s Tower
Synthesis Design + Architecture & SCUT Architectural Design & Research Institute
Guangzhou, China

Comprising the jury for this year’s Next LA awards were:
David Benjamin – Founding Principal, The Living, and Assistant Professor at Columbia GSAPP (Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation).
Mario Cipresso, AIA – Associate Principal, Hawkins/Brown
Elizabeth Timme – Co-Founder, LA-Más



CSUN Sustainability Center
Northridge, CA

Arizona State University, Biodesign Institute C
ZGF Architects LLP
Tempe, AZ


Otis College of Art and Design Campus Expansion
Ehrlich | Fisher
Los Angeles, CA

West Hollywood Automated Parking Garage
LPA, Inc.
West Hollywood, CA

UCSB BioEngineering
Moore Ruble Yudell Architects & Planners
Santa Barbara, CA


Robert Redford Conservancy for Southern California Sustainability, Pitzer College
Carrier Johnson + CULTURE
Claremont, CA

The jurors for the 2018 AIA|LA COTE Awards were:
William Leddy, FAIA, LEED AP – Founding Principal, Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects
Douglas E. Noble, FAIA, Ph.D – Director, Master of Building Science and Discipline Head for Building Science at USC School of Architecture
Anne Schopf, FAIA – Partner, Mahlum Architects

In addition to the juried awards program, 2018 Presidential Honorees were celebrated during the course of the evening. Honorees are individuals, firms or companies who have re-defined the possibilities of design, produced meaningful bodies-of-work in an overall context, or contributed significantly to the profession and its practitioners.

The 2018 AIA|LA Presidential Honorees are:
Gold Medal: Michael A. Enomoto, FAIA – Managing Partner, Gruen Associates
Emerging Practice: Ed Ogosta, AIA – Edward Ogosta Architecture
Building Team: Kaiser Permanente Baldwin Hills-Crenshaw Medical Office
Community Contribution: Councilmember Marqueece Harris-Dawson, Los Angeles City Council, District 8
25-Year Award: Los Angeles Central Library Expansion and Historic Renovation (1993)
Design Advocate, Developer: Robin Conerly, President & CEO – West Hollywood Community Housing Corporation and Jesse Slansky – Director of Real Estate Development, West Hollywood Community Housing Corporation
Design Advocate, Builder: Hathaway Dinwiddie
Educator Award: Ingalill Wahlroos-Ritter, FAIA – Dean, Woodbury University School of Architecture; Director, WUHO Gallery
Honorary AIA|LA: Jenna Hornstock, Hon. AIA|LA – Executive Officer, Transit Oriented Communities, METRO
Honorary AIA|LA: Anne Frederiksen, Hon. AIA|LA – Architectural Business Development, PLP SoCal

For high quality images of winners and for more information about the event, please call 213-639-0763 or email


— End —

– END –


Tibby Rothman, Hon. AIA|LA
Director, Marketing and Public Relations
p: 213-639-0763