The AIA Los Angeles’ most prestigious design awards program deserves the Chapter’s best bash.

This year’s virtual party brings the excitement and camaraderie of our annual event to you wherever you are. Catch up with old friends you haven’t seen in a year, in classic set of (virtual) lounges just like you would at our annual crowd-pleasing reception.*(Scroll down for a list of hosts to date.)

View unique special tributes. Hear from Presidential Honorees with deep commitments to the power of design. Learn who are this year’s “Best of the Millennium” award winners, Design Award winners, and Next LA winners with us. Relax for the evening while also supporting a year of AIALA activities that support individuals and firms of all sizes.

The 2020 AIALA Design Awards Ceremony + Party Presenting Sponsor is: Sharpe Interior Systems, Inc.

Connect with attendees and support essential AIALA programming, sponsor the 2020 AIALA Design Awards.


Virtual Awards Ceremony / Thursday, October 29, 2020 5:30P – 8:00P
Attire: Zoom Cocktail


Go beyond the digital realm. Ticket holders* will receive “survival kits,” yes–physical ones that we’ll get to you–featuring components for contemporary life with Design Awards twists.


A classic architect-worthy commemorative gift is also available for purchase on the ticketing page.


* For AIA Architect, Allied Affiliate, Associate AIA and Non-Member ticket purchasers.





The Design Awards is the AIALA’s biggest fundraiser. We ask that you not forward the event link to others. Only one person per registered attendee will be admitted. Thank you for your support.


REGULAR (September 21 – October 21)
AIA Architect or Allied Affiliate AIALA: $90
Associate AIA:$65
Non-Member: $110
Student: $40


LATE (October 22 – October 29)
AIA Architect or Allied Affiliate AIALA: $105
Associate AIA:$85
Non-Member: $130
Student: $60


Hank Koning, FAIA + Julie Eizenberg, FAIA || Mixology Fest, How’s Your Drink-Mixing Knowledge? (Thought so, see you there.)


Angie Brooks, FAIA || The Maybeck Lounge (No trivia, Just drop by to toast the 2020 AIA CA Maybeck Award winner.)


Debra Gerod, FAIA + Sarah Lorenzen, AIA || Your Pet–Do You Really Know It? (Can’t let your cat or dog down!)


Francis Anderton, Hon. AIALA || Pit Your Cultural Knowledge (and catch up on all the latest design news)


Frank Clementi, FAIA + Julie Smith-Clementi, AIA + Warren Techentin, FAIA || The Legendary East Side/West Side Trivia Challenge (Represent.)


Janet Marie Smith +  Derek O’Hara + Daniel Fetcho | Dodger Fans, A Once-in-a-Pennant Race Chance to Prove Your Dodger Design Expertise with some True Insiders (Say No More!)


Neil Denari, FAIA + Andrea Cohen Gehring, FAIA + Michael Gehring, FAIA || USC/UCLA Educators + Alumni Go Head to Head to Represent their School (No excused absences.)

Sponsor the 2020 AIALA Design Awards Ceremony
Sponsor the AIALA's most prestigious event and support work through the Chapter's largest fundraiser of the year.

2020 AIALA Presidential Honorees Announced
Recipients are architects and professionals active in the built environment who have meaningfully influenced architecture, the urban design of the area, and the practice of the profession.
Angie Brooks, FAIA, Brooks + Scarpa, Answers the Honoree Questionnaire
2020 AIALA Citizen Architect, Angie Brooks, FAIA, tells us about the project that she believes most contributed to the city, her alternative to a dream project, and how the location of her favorite film became an indelible part of the Los Angeles landscape.


Jury Day / Friday, September 18

Design Awards Jury

+ Tom Kundig, FAIA – Olson Kundig (Seattle, Washington)
+ Thomas Robinson, AIA – LEVER (Portland, Oregon)
+ Tatiana Bilbao – Tatiana Bilbao Estudio (Mexico City, Mexico)

Next LA

+ Michael Fox, AIA – FoxLin (San Clemente, CA)
+ David Hertz, FAIA – Studio EA (Los Angeles, CA)
+ Kunlé Adeyemi – NLÉ (Amsterdam, Holland and Lagos, Nigeria)


Millennium Category Jury

+ Martino Stierli – Chief Curator of Architecture and Design at The Museum of Modern Art (NY, New York)
+ Ingalill Wahlroos-Ritter, FAIA – Dean, School of Architecture,
Woodbury University (Los Angeles, CA)
+ Valery Augustin, AIA, Director of Global Studies, USC School of Architecture


Submissions – Closed 8/7/20

Registration – Closed 6/30/20


1) Call for Entries includes Projects qualifying for the following categories;


Design Awards – built work in Los Angeles or by Los Angeles architects*


NEXT LA – unbuilt work in Los Angeles or by Los Angeles architects*


Best of the Millennium – Best of the Best selected from previous winners of Design Awards (built projects) from the years 2000 – 2019.


2) Download the Call for Entries.


3) Registration is Closed



After registration closes, registrants will receive an “additional entry form” from, which is essentially a link by which to submit all required materials and information for your project.

Please review the submission requirements and submission template below to identify what needs to be submitted for your entry:

+Submission Requirements

+Common App Document

+DA Presentation Submission Template_2020

Please find below helpful documents to assist with the Common App, which is required for the Design Awards and Next LA Categories:

+Residential Calculator Instructions

+Residential Calculator

+Non-Residential Calculator Instructions

+Non-Residential Calculator

+Common App Webinar

+AIA 2030 Commitment 

If you have any questions, please email

Nominations for the 2020 AIA|LA Emerging Firm Award Are Open
Submit your firm for consideration for the highest honor that the AIA|LA bestows on an emerging architecture firm.
Nominations for the 2020 Robert Kennard, FAIA Award are Open
This AIA|LA award recognizes the promotion of ethnic and cultural diversity, gener equity, and inclusion of marginalized groups of citizens through design or practice.

PHOTO: Banner: David Lena Photography
Presenting Sponsor

Gold Sponsors

Wine Sponsor

Digital Exhibition Sponsor

Mask Sponsor

Merry Norris Tribute Video Thanks To

Survival Kit

Bronze Sponsors

Graphics and Animation

Printed Material