PHOTO: Boyle Tower designed by MUTUO. Detail of rendering.

Call for Nominations: 2020 AIA|LA Emerging Practice Award

About the Award:
The purpose of the Emerging Practice Award is to recognize notable, innovative achievements in design, community service, education, and service to the profession and the AIA by an architectural firm within Los Angeles that has been in existence for a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 7 years.

The AIA|LA Emerging Practice Award is the highest honor that the American Institute of Architects Los Angeles can bestow on an emerging architecture firm for consistently producing innovative architecture.

Deadline for Nominations: Friday, May 14, 2020 at 11:59PM | Submissions are now closed.

Banner: Boyle Tower designed by last year’s Emerging Firm Award recipient MUTUO.


Any firm, whether an individual or an organization of architects, in which the continuing collaboration among individuals of the firm has been the principal force in consistently producing innovative architecture for a for a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 7 years, is eligible for the Emerging Practice Award. No more than one such award shall be made in any year.

  • The firm shall have evidenced innovation, having a cumulative effect on the profession of architecture.
  • The firm’s work shall be a product of a collaborative environment or a demonstration of a new way of
  • The firm shall have evidenced the ability to transcend specific areas of expertise or shall have made 
connections between areas.
  • The firm shall be recognized by peers.
  • Principal (or one, if many) will have to be an AIA or Associate AIA member.


AIA|LA staff will publish a Call for Nominations – potential candidate can submit a nomination providing the following information:

  • images and description of no more than 5 projects;
  • a statement of the firm’s philosophy;
  • a statement of the firm’s profile;
  • a list of awards and recognitions
  • one letter of recommendation from an LA-area architect not within the firm

AIA|LA Staff will collate all submissions for a presentation to the Board of Directors 


The AIA|LA Board of Directors reviews the self-nominees and votes on the selection of one winner. Non- winners are allowed to re-enter the following year if so desired if they continue to meet the above criteria.


Submissions will be reviewed by the 2021 AIA|LA Board of Directors. References may be called upon to answer questions, or to advocate on behalf of the nominated.

Please submit all of your nomination materials by Friday, May 14.



The 2021 recipient of the Emerging Practice Award will be recognized alongside other Presidential Honorees on stage at the 2021 Design Award Ceremony in October.

About the AIA|LA Presidential Awards

The Los Angeles Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA|LA) has an enriched tradition of recognizing distinguished professionals with an annual allocation of AIA|LA Presidential and Board of Directors Awards. These Awards provide the foundations of what the Los Angeles Chapter stands for: recognition of excellence in design and to provide rewards for those individuals whose passion, talent and dedication make an undeniable and permanent contribution to our city’s built environment and our community. Honorees of the AIA|LA Presidential Awards shall be individuals, firms and organizations whose work and conduct exemplify and further the core values of the Chapter. These core values include: commitment to equity, diversity, inclusivity and human rights; architecture that strengthens our communities; sustainable and environmentally-conscious practices; providing economic opportunity; and advocacy for the profession at the social and political level.

In recognizing that architecture and design matter, and that communities are built on the leadership provided by the profession, the AIA|LA Presidential and Board of Directors Awards enable the Chapter to bestow upon select individuals an honor that has become highly regarded in Southern California.


2019 – Mutuo – Jose Herrasti, AIA & Fernanda Opperman, AIA
2018 – Edward Ogosta Architecture – Ed Ogosta, AIA
2017 – Design, Bitches – Catherine Johnson, AIA and Rebecca Rudolph, AIA
2016 – SDA | Synthesis Design + Architecture – Alvin Huang, AIA
2015 – Omgivning Architects – Karin Liljegren, AIA
2014 – PAR – Jennifer Marmon, AIA
2013 – Johnston Marklee
2012 – Oyler Wu Collaborative
2011 – Lee + Mundwiler Architects
2010 – Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects
2009 – Daly Genik Architects